PDA

View Full Version : Using music as a hoop? (specifically guitar)

xAliasx
05-15-2006, 05:20 PM
Ok, this is just a short bio to use for reference: I've been playing drums for about 5 years and now guitar and singing for about 6 months.
After being able to play drums for a long enough time, I noticed it was hard to actually play something in public (school for example), without annoying the hell out of people after a bit. Don't get me wrong, I still play the drums and love them to death, but stick tricks can only get you so far in public, and otherwise - it's just a shitload of noise. And, it wasn't portable... so I started playing guitar, carrying it around school, ect. At first it was just for show. The big ass case that screams "I'm a motherfuckin' badass". lol Now, (6 months later), I can play a shit load of songs, and actually sing to a couple of them, top to bottom.
What I wanted to know, for anyone out there that either plays an instrument or has some what of a hobby that they can use to their advantage in a set (like magic, art, ect)... How can I turn the guitar playing into a "hoop"? This is considering that I'm at school. At my house I suppose the situation would be different, since it's a comfort location. Akin to maybe making a girl spin before doing an impersonation again. But instead.. when I take my guitar out in class or lunch, girls usually want to hear me play due to curiousity, and I'm not shy in that aspect. But I would like to see if there's a way I could make them jump through a hoop first. Or would that even be necessary?

Iceman
05-15-2006, 10:07 PM
Its a pretty good DHV yourself...if they want to hear you play, play for them. Just ONCE though. Play something funny, if you can sing at the same time, or just something you like.
Then, if they ask you to play again...:
HBsGettingGamed: OMG! Play something else!
You: Hey, I'm not just here for your entertainment. Give me a good back massage and I'll play again.

Vincent Chase