Jean Experts, I need your advice & expertise

12 LastLast
  1. Jean Experts, I need your advice & expertise

Hey guys, I have a question that I would appreciate your help with. I was trying on some Hudson's Slim Fit men's jeans at Nordstrom's today, and this is my first time making the jump to more expensive brand jeans (I usually got $50-75 GAP, Levi's jeans before). I am size 30x30 and am a slender dude at 5'8" 145 lbs, and I have skinny legs and no ass.

*The size 30 was a little more loose around the waist than I am used to (vanity sizing) and the fabric in the butt area bunched up a bit (the lack of ass on my part, haha). But besides those things, it was a comfy fit. But I want them to fit perfectly and form-fitting, so alterations in butt area will have to be made.

*The size 29 was quite tight around the waist, but I could fit my thumb and finger in b/w waist and jean, so it's manageable. The rest of the size 29 was as close to a perfect fit though, through the thighs, down legs, and esp. back in the ass area (no fabric bunching up). It's a damn bit tight, but the closest to a perfect fit in jeans I've ever had.

My question is this: With regular wear and a few washes (I know the rules, keep washing to a minimum and cold wash and hang dry), will the jeans naturally get a little bit baggier and expand a little in the waist? I've read/heard that some more expensive jeans do this, so to go a size down. If this is correct, then the 29 would be the answer for me. The 29 is tight enough that if I gain 3-5 lbs, they probably won't fit anymore, so I'm also wondering if it'd be a good idea to get 30 and wash it w/ hot water to shrink it a little bit? Many thanks if some guys can give me the 411 on this.

2. My rule is if you can fit into the jeans on the first try then get them. the 29s sound like the right fit to me - you definately do not want something loose when you buy it new.